Thread: Problem - rounds won't chamber - 9mm with Berry's 124gr HP

Problem - rounds won't chamber - 9mm with Berry's 124gr HP

Let me start by saying I've been reloading for about two years, and while I'm no expert, everything til now has chambered right.

I made up some reloads using once-fired UMC (RP) 9mm cases and Berry's "preferred plated bullets" 9mm (0.356") 124gr plated HP bullets:
    http://www.berrysmfg.com/9.php

Cases had been tumbled and were resized in Lee carbide dies, and crimped in Lee factory crimp die. OAL was set at 1.095". It's not relevant to this problem, but I was using CCI primers and 6.1gr of Power Pistol.

I went to shoot these today in my Steyr M9 and found many rounds wouldn't chamber fully - the slide would not go all the way into battery. It also jammed things up so it was extremely hard to rack the slide and eject the cartridge, though I was able to do so. The rounds that would chamber shot just fine.

Later I disassembled the M9 and tried to see if the rounds would fit in its chamber. None of the remaining ones would - they got as far as to where the case rim was almost lined up with the end of the barrel, i.e. they were stuck out by one case rim thickness. I re-crimped a couple in the FCD, which resizes the case if necessary, and the result was the same. I tried some empty cases run through the FCD and those dropped in without a problem.

I then tried the same cartridges in the detached barrels (for safety) of an XD9 and a Ruger P89. Same result with the XD9, however all remaining cartridges dropped fully into the chamber of the P89 barrel with no problem whatsoever.