Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Any of you Mississipians (SB 2306 & SB 2036)

  1. #1
    Member  
    Join Date
    01-24-08
    Location
    Biloxi, Mississippi
    Posts
    46

    Any of you Mississipians (SB 2306 & SB 2036)

    From the NRA e-mail sent to me.


    Two Pro-Gun Bills in Mississippi Need Your Help!
    Please Stand-Up and Make Your Voices Heard!


    State Senator Merle Flowers (R-19) has introduced two NRA-backed bills so far this session, both of which have been referred to the Senate Judiciary B Committee.



    In 2006 after Hurricane Katrina, the Mississippi Legislature amended the state's firearms preemption law to prevent cities and counties from interfering with the lawful transportation and possession of firearms in one's home, vehicle, or place of business during a state of emergency or natural disaster. This year, Senator Flowers has introduced SB 2036, which amends the state's emergency powers laws to create additional Second Amendment protections for law-abiding citizens during a future crisis.



    Senator Flowers has also filed SB 2306, which repeals a prohibition in the state's Right-to-Carry law on permit holders possessing handguns in state and municipal parks. Without this legislation, permit holders in Mississippi and reciprocal states would be allowed to carry a concealed firearm in national parks under the recent rule change adopted by the Department of the Interior but not allowed to carry in state or municipal parks.



    Please contact the members of the Senate Judiciary B Committee and your State Senator TODAY and respectfully urge them to support both SB 2036 and SB 2306! Contact information for the Senate Judiciary B Committee can be found below. Please click here to find contact information for your State Senator.



    State Senator Gray Tollison, Chairman, (D-9)

    gtollison@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3425



    State Senator Michael Watson, Vice-Chairman, (R-51)

    mwatson@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3234



    State Senator Sidney Albritton, (R-40)

    salbritton@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3226



    State Senator David Baria, (D-46)

    dbaria@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3234



    State Senator David Blount, (D-29)

    dblount@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3232



    State Senator Terry W. Brown, (R-17)

    tbrown@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3226



    State Senator Hob Bryan, (D-7)

    (601) 359-3234



    State Senator Terry C. Burton, (R-31)

    tburton@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3234



    State Senator Vincent Davis, (D-36)

    vdavis@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3232



    State Senator W. Briggs Hopson III, (R-23)

    bhopson@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3211



    State Senator Perry Lee, (R-35)

    plee@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3250



    State Senator Bennie L. Turner, (D-16)

    bturner@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3210



    State Senator Johnnie E. Walls, Jr., (D-12)

    jwalls@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3165



    State Senator Giles Ward, (R-18)

    gkward@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3172



    State Senator J. P. Wilemon, Jr., (D-5)

    jwilemon@senate.ms.gov

    (601) 359-3232

  2. #2
    Senior Member  
    Join Date
    09-24-03
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,583
    There are quite a few gun bills in the MS hopper this year, not just those. MSFOA will put you on the email list upon request and keep you posted on all we can find year round. Our annual meeting is coming up 2:00 pm Feb. 21 in Pearl at Bass Pro Shops. All gun supporters are invited.
    NRA Benefactor
    Miss. St. Firearms Owners Assn.
    LEAA Member
    Eagle Scout
    Professional Engineer

    "He who goes unarmed in paradise had better be sure that that is where he is."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •