Thread: I've never owned a scope before...(advice)

I've never owned a scope before...(advice)

I'm going to buy a stevens .223 I'm rather excited about it. However i have hit a snag I need a scope for it and I've never picked up a scope in my life it startles me to pay a lot of money for something i don't understand. And being a teacher i can't afford alot. So can you guys suggest a scope that isn't too expensive (max 250 ish) and doesn't need high set rings to be mounted i like the lower profile. Since i don't have alot of money should i be considering a solid 3x9 that can be upgraded later? to a more expensive scope with more range.
    O.B.
    Teacher of math
    Petter of small animals
    Regular killer of paper
    Husband
    Hunter of most of gods creatures

3-9x

The 3-9x Weavers are a great scope for the money. Occasionally you'll find Simmons Whitetails on sale for about $100 and for the money they are great scopes as well. Factory refurbished 3-9x Burris scopes at Natchez are generally very reasonable and a great scope carrying the same warranty as non-refurbished scopes. What do you plan on doing with your combination? Target shooting you will want the higher powers,but for hunting large animals a 4 or 6 power fixed will get the job done out to 200 yds.+
    Be SAFE or be GONE! Pass it on.

"Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you,
    Jesus Christ and the American G. I.
    One died for your soul;
    the other for your freedom." Unknown

Go on ebay and watch for a fixed power scope-8, 10, 12 power. Wait for one of the better brands-Leupold or if your rich uncle dies-Unertl.

I'm with langenc. A fixed power, anywhere from 4x to 10x would be my recommendation. You'd be surprised at what you can do with a good 4x scope. Save your money to buy something good, and you won't regret it. Leupold is a good bet. I've been disappointed in optics many times, but the Leupolds have always been good.