Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Arkansas Right-to-Carry Confidentiality Bill Needs Your Help!

  1. #1
    Senior Member  
    Join Date
    06-20-07
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    907

    Arkansas Right-to-Carry Confidentiality Bill Needs Your Help!

    steve@steveharrelson.com; cashj@arkleg.state.ar.us; creekmored@arkleg.state.ar.us; smithl@arkleg.state.ar.us; bakert@arkleg.state.ar.us; powersd@arkleg.state.ar.us; roebuckj@arkleg.state.ar.us; bhyde@hydco.com; bairdd@arkleg.state.ar.us; dhobbs55@sbcglobal.net; leaa@arkleg.state.ar.us; wilkinsb@arkleg.state.ar.us; ricet@arkleg.state.ar.us; williamsd@arkleg.state.ar.us; coles@arkleg.state.ar.us; avclemmer@sbcglobal.net; davy.carter@gmail.com; nickelsj@arkleg.state.ar.us; rogerst@arkleg.state.ar.us; slinkardm@arkleg.state.ar.us


    Above is a copy and paste friendly version of the below email addy's


    Arkansas Right-to-Carry Confidentiality Bill Needs Your Help!
    Please Contact the Members of the House Judiciary Committee Today!



    On Monday, February 16, Arkansas Times blogger Max Brantley, jeopardized the privacy rights of every person with a concealed carry permit in Arkansas by publishing a complete list of permit holders in the Razorback State.



    The link to the list was later removed after some protest but on Tuesday, February 24, an anonymous website was created that allows the visitor to search for any Right-to-Carry permit holder in the state. Both of these sources have been removed at the time of this posting, but this remains a threat for all gun owners in Arkansas.



    In response to this abuse, State Representative Randy Stewart (D-23) has introduced House Bill 1623, legislation that would prohibit outlets or individuals from publishing records in the future that open gun owners up to identity theft and persecution for their Second Amendment rights. Currently, HB 1623 is in the House Judiciary Committee where a hearing has yet to be scheduled.



    Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to support this crucial piece of legislation. Their contact information can be found below.

    State Representative Steve Harrelson (D-1) Chairman
    Email: steve@steveharrelson.com

    State Representative Joan Cash (D-75)
    Email: cashj@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Dawn Creekmore (D-27)
    Email: creekmored@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Lindsley Smith (D-92)
    Email: smithl@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Tommy Lee Baker (D-55)
    Email: bakert@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative David Powers (D-3)
    Email: powersd@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Johnnie Roebuck (D-20)
    Email: roebuckj@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Barry Hyde (D-40)
    Email: bhyde@hydco.com

    State Representative Duncan Baird (R-95)
    Email: bairdd@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Debra Hobbs (R-95)
    Email: dhobbs55@sbcglobal.net

    State Representative Andrea Lea (R-68)
    Email: leaa@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Butch Wilkins (D-74)
    Email: wilkinsb@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Terry Rice (R-62)
    Email: ricet@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Darin Williams (D-36)
    Email: williamsd@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Steve Cole (D-21)
    Email: coles@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Ann Clemmer (R-29)
    Email: avclemmer@sbcglobal.net

    State Representative Davy Carter (R-48)
    Email: davy.carter@gmail.com

    State Representative Jim Nickels (D-43)
    Email: nickelsj@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Tiffany Rogers (D-14)
    Email: rogerst@arkleg.state.ar.us

    State Representative Mary Slinkard (R-100)
    Email: slinkardm@arkleg.state.ar.us
    Jahwarrior said: I could've given them my ID, but I am right, and obstinate about being so. so, yes,I could've ended it by just cooperating, but that would have hypocritical, lazy, and cowardly.

  2. #2
    Senior Member  
    Join Date
    02-22-06
    Posts
    750
    Currently, HB 1623 is in the House Judiciary Committee where a hearing has yet to be scheduled.
    Good news is that it's now been scheduled... for 3 March.

    http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/assemb...asureno=HB1623

  3. #3
    Senior Member  
    Join Date
    02-22-06
    Posts
    750
    Holy wow.... I sent an email to the entire list at 20:40. I got this reply from State Representative Andrea Lea (R-68) at 20:50:

    Rest assured I am committed to protecting our 2nd amendment rights and will support this bill whole-heartedly.
    -Andrea

    Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

  4. #4
    Senior Member  
    Join Date
    06-20-07
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    907
    I got the same thing
    Jahwarrior said: I could've given them my ID, but I am right, and obstinate about being so. so, yes,I could've ended it by just cooperating, but that would have hypocritical, lazy, and cowardly.

  5. #5
    Senior Member  
    Join Date
    02-22-06
    Posts
    750
    'Nother reply:

    Thanks for writing. I'm a supporter of the bill and am chair of House Judiciary, where the bill will be debated next Tuesday. Please know that I generally support legislation that makes all government documents and processes transparent and out in the open – in other words, I do not believe that the government should operate in secret in virtually any area. I do not take exemptions to the state’s Freedom of Information Act lightly, as I believe that generally, people have a right to know what we’re up to.

    However, I believe there to be a legitimate basis to keep the identities of those with a concealed carry license private and different from other licenses the state administers. As a gun owner, I find no reason to publish the names of those on the list other than to invite trouble (or, for a more valid and narrow reason – to scour the names for felons who may be licensees illegally). However, I believe the privacy concerns outweigh these arguments. Therefore, I support HB1623. Thanks for taking the time to write and please do so anytime.

    Steve

  6. #6
    Senior Member  
    Join Date
    04-13-05
    Posts
    131
    How can we Arkansans all get together at one site. Is there a central site? I am ready to finally get off my ass.

  7. #7

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •