Thread: Hunting whitetail deer with .30 carbine?

Hunting whitetail deer with .30 carbine?

Does anyone have any experience with this? Simply from a shooting perspective, I find my M1 carbine to be the easiest and most accurate rifle that I have for off-hand shooting. I'm just not sure if it has enough power. I have some hollow point .30 carbine rounds on order.

I have no such experience. But whitetail are routinely hunted with .357 Magnums. And arrows.

If you are willing to take only the best heart-shot at an appropriate distance, I can't see how .30 carbine is going to fail.

A local one armed fellow hunted with one for years and did well.

.30 Carbine vs. whitetail deer...

Gingerbread Man (Loved yr performance in "Shrek"!)--One of the largest bucks I have ever seen was taken with a .30 carbine with one shot through the engine room. Now, it WAS a close shot, but it was a clean kill.

If your hunting will keep you within, say, 50 yd of the deer, for example in a close brushy swamp, I'd have no problem blessing your hunting the wily whitetail with a .30 carbine. It's an extremely light, fast-handling weapon; easy to bring to bear in tight conditions.

Now, if you're out on the prairies, where the deer and the antelope play, and your shots could be from 10 to an easy 350 yds, then you're clearly better off with a longer-range weapon. And there I would have a discouraging word, or several, for the little carbine.

But up close and personal?? That's what it was made for!

Ammo: Hollow points are the way to go! Any softpoint is legal, most localities. FMJ's are both illegal and unethical.
    Last edited by Smokey Joe; September 29th, 2009 at 01:08 PM. Reason: The usual--Had another thought.
    God Bless America

Smokey Joe

Blue River Wisconsin, in a little hut in the woods