Thread: Can you reload shotgun shells?

Can you reload shotgun shells?

Hey folks, once again I have a question that might seem obvious to you, but is confusing to a newbie like me. Can you reload shotgun shells? I'm not going to try it anytime soon, as I own neither a shotgun (or any gun) or reloading equipment. Thanks!
    I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.
    Yes, I am a Pro-Gun Democrat, but with a strong streak of libertarianism.
    Proud native of New Hampshire. Live free or Die!

yes sir

Yes, steps are very much like metallic reloading, equipment is readily available as are components. Quality hulls will survive 4-10 reloadings.

Sure you can, as 1911 and jfd have pointed out, if you can afford the shot (the price of shot has gone way up from what it used to cost).

I inherited a scad of shotshell reloading stuff when my dad died last summer.

Parker

Thanks, I just wasn't sure, because most modern ones have plastic and whatnot. I assume that it would be fairly easy to make your own lead shot, right?
    I may not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.

Making your own shot would be a complex and cumbersome process. The manufacturers of shot use different techniques to ensure uniformity and roundness, including dropping it long distances from shot towers.

Even though the price has gone up from what it cost in the past, it would still be much easier to buy it than to try to manufacture it.
    Lew Wallace was an optimist.

I want my country back!

Essentially all components for shotshell reloading must be purchased. An exception would be self cast slugs. Quality plastic hulls are in high demand; I waited about 4 months to fill an order of 1000 Federal Gold Medal hulls.