Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Remington 572 fieldmaster...Rare???

Remington 572 fieldmaster...Rare???

First things first; I'm new to this forum. So I don't know the ropes yet. I thought instead of just saying HI, I'd throw one out there for you to get it going.

I have a Rem, 572 fieldmaster that I've never run across before. It's a lightweight rifle with a blue (I mean bright '67 corvette blue) anodized receiver and barrel. Aluminum bbl. with a steel liner. A GOLD anodized rear sight(typical Rem. with two screws, seven step) and Gold post front sight.

The Mag tube is nickel plated, as is the action bar. The butt plate looks like shiny aluminum on the sides with black anodizing on the ribbed back end with the Remington at the top, just below the screw hole. Top of receiver is grooved for scope mounts. It's in 99% condition.

Stock appears to be blond with pressed checkering, as does the pump. No serial numbers. Remington Arms Co. Inc..llion, N.Y.
    Made in U.S.A. patent no. 2.576.638
    other pending REMINGTON 22 S., L., & L.R.

On the bbl, left side almost at the reciever is a circle with a vertical line in it. R E 47.. It has a safety on the rear of the trigger guard, and a action disconnect on the left front of trigger guard.

When was it made? Is it RARE??? How much is it worth? I've seen millions of guns at 35 years of gun shows, but never one of these before. I tried to google it, and look it up in the Blue Book on gun values, but no luck.

Thanks for all and any replys. I hope I gave enough info to work with.
    Yeah, Yeah, I know, I'm a blabberfingers.
    Last edited by SS8541; April 2nd, 2010 at 04:06 AM. Reason: More info added

You have a Remington Fieldmaster Lightweight. Supposedly the teal blue is the rarest one. I'm not an expert on them, but here's some more info:

http://www.remingtonsociety.com/foru....php?f=5&t=370

And even more:

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_would...minum_be_worth

Good luck!