Thread: .433 round ball for what?

.433 round ball for what?

I'm just getting into cap and ball revolvers and just purchased a 1860 Army in 44cal. A friend gave me a bucket of lead several years ago when I was thinking aout Casting(changed mind). In that bucket were several round balls in .451 that I can use for my new pistol. There were also several .433 balls in the bucket

My question is, what blackpowder gun will use these .433 balls.
    NRA & TSRA Memeber

Life's better Outdoors

You could use them in a 44 Russian/American/Special for a light bullet game or gallery load. Otherwise, any combination of this ball and a patch that will fit the barrel. Lots of different barrels out there.

SO, can I use these balls and patch them with pillow ticking that is .018" thick in my 1860 Army revolver?
    I only have around 80 of these .433" balls and I see I can get the .018" ticking from Dixie Gun Works. I just really would like to use up these few balls and not have to worry about another barrel. Or I may try to swap them for some .451" balls.

Thanks in advance for helping me out
    dt
    NRA & TSRA Memeber

Life's better Outdoors

Never heard of anyone using a patched ball in a revolver.

But I guess it could be done. Just lots of trouble.

NO! Do not patch the balls for a revolver! They are slightly OVERSIZED so that they swedge to size when loaded. That holds them in place against the recoil of being fired. If you patch them, when you fire the first shot most, if not all of the others will jump forward and bind the cylinder. A real hassle to fix.
    Use .451-457 rb in your revolver.

Oneshooter
    Livin in Texas
    'Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But, the Marines don't have that problem' --
    - Ronald Reagan-

Ok, Thanks OneShooter. I'll see if I can find some one to trade for some. .451 balls or someone to melt these down and recast them to .451".