Thread: What's the best ammo for my M1A and M1 Carbine?

What's the best ammo for my M1A and M1 Carbine?

So I just bought a couple of used rifles. One is a Springfield M1A and the other is a US M1 Carbine .30. Both look in good shape.

What is the best ammo for the Springfield M1A? The internet says it can take a .308 Winchester or a 7.62x51 mm Nata round. Which is best? Full metal jacket? Copper cases? Or steel? Any thoughts or opinions?

About my US M1 Carbine .30--are there any choices there?

I don't know the ins and outs of ammo really and would appreciate an experts opinion.

I want both the rifles for hunting and/or protection purposes

I know it is expensive, but the best answer to your question is gather up a variety of ammo and do your own testing. Every gun will have its own "best."
    Gee, I'd love to see your data!

I don't know the ins and outs of ammo really and would appreciate an experts opinion.
    I'm no expert but I have an opinion.

I want both the rifles for hunting and/or protection purposes
    If hunting with these rifles then you need to check up on the gaming laws where you are. For example, in Iowa the law requires that one use expanding type ammunition to hunt deer. When it comes to fur bearing animals just about anything will be legal. The laws where you are may differ.

When it comes to protection against anything other than big cats or bears I'd suggest not using the Springfield. A .308 round has considerable penetration and will very likely go through your intended target and the house behind it.

If you are going to protect yourself against big cats or bears then the Springfield sounds like an excellent choice. Again, I'm no expert but I've heard that FMJ ammo is a good idea for these animals. They have thick skins and heavy bones, that means you need every advantage you can get to go deep into your target to hit something vital.